Fairbanks Offroad Lions

Go Back   Fairbanks Offroad Lions > Offroad Forums > New Members Intro

Old 09-09-2012, 12:10 PM

Default Just bought a ZJ / New to Off-roading

just bought a 97 grand cherokee couple months ago. took it out for a couple of rides on stock and got myself in trouble. finally put some decent tires on it after lifting it and i feel like the jeep is ready for some exploration and fun. the jeep is still a project so i'm still adding parts but i think i can do some basic off-roading with it as soon as i install the skid plates i pulled from a junkyard.

i am totally new to jeeps, cars, off-roading and everything.

anyway, haven't really done much except explore fort wainwright (approach/sage hill area) and just explore some trails along the highway. really looking forward to linking up with fellow offroaders around fairbanks so i can learn a thing or too. i'm a total noob at the moment.

i was reading about the delta mtn run coming up at the end of the month. what can i do to participate?

Last edited by iser; 09-09-2012 at 12:19 PM.
Old 09-09-2012, 01:08 PM
President

Just show up, welcome to the website. Just have your gear ready as we will be leaving Fbks around 6 that Friday. I look forward to meeting you and don't worry about being a rook, everyone in this club was at one time and many are still very green. We ALL learn everyday. Once again welcome.
Old 09-09-2012, 09:14 PM

alrighty. what kind of equipments should i prepare? what are some basic minimums i should prepare? got survival gear. got a hilift jack. got some tools for basic trail repair work. only major major major thing i'm missing right now is a recovery point in the front of my vehicle. (i know, it's crazy that a jeep didn't come with tow points). #1 on my list of upgrades is a recovery point. i am gonna hit up the junkyard and see if i can find a factory tow bracket for 93-98 grand chk but i did a cursory search last time but didn't find any.